Committee Structure & Membership

Committee members were selected based on their elected positions in which they are currently serving on COM-T faculty/student committee. Every effort is made to compose the self-study team that is representative of the College's constituents to ensure varied perspectives and input in the review process.

The Interim Self-study Team (ISST) consists of the following members:

  • Dean (Chair)
  • Vice Dean
  • Deputy Deans
  • Chair, Tucson Education Policy Committee
  • Associate Deans for Medical Education and Student Affairs
  • Department Heads representing clinical and basic science departments
  • Student members from the Independent Student Analysis; in addition, student contribution will be through the Independent Student Analysis (ISA)
  • Director for Accreditation

Staff Resources to support the Interim Self-study Team are the Director for Accreditation and the Special Assistant to the Deputy Dean for Education.

Interim Self-study Team Membership Roster, AY 2017-2018

FACULTY Name, TITLE, Department

Kimberly Gerhart, MD

Clinical Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Patricia Lebensohn, MD

Professor, Family and Community Medicine - (Clinical Scholar Track)

Chair, Tucson Education Policy Committee

Alice A Min

Assistant Dean, Faculty Development
Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine - (Educator Scholar Track)

Andrew L. Tang, MD, FACS

Associate Professor of Surgery
Trauma Medical Director, Banner University Medical Center
Associate Program Director, General Surgery Residency​


Department Heads Name, Title, Department

David M Labiner, MD

Department Head, Neurology
Professor, Neurology
Professor, Pharmacy Practice-Science

Baldassarre Stea, MD, PhD, FASTRO

Clinical Medical Director, Radiation Oncology
Department Head, Radiation Oncology
Professor, Radiation Oncology


Maria Fernandez, MS4

Joseph Frankl, MS4

Maryam Gilpatrick, MS4
Brittney Rorex, MS4
Jody Platto, MS2



Judith DiMarco, PhD

Deputy Dean, Administrative Affairs and Chief of Staff

Carol Gregorio, PhD

Vice Dean, Innovation & Development

Co-Director, Sarver Heart Center
Department Head, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine

David Elmer, MBA

Deputy Dean, Finance and Business Affairs, COM-Tucson

Kevin Moynahan, MD, FACP

Deputy Dean, Education
Professor of Medicine

George Fantry, MD

Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Admissions 
Associate Professor, Medicine - (Educator Scholar Track)

Sean P. Elliott, MD

Interim Associate Dean, Curricular Affairs
Professor and Associate Chair, Pediatrics
Department of Pediatrics

Raquel H. Givens, M.Ed.

Director, LCME Accreditation